Count Your Blessings

I’ve been wracking my brain this week, trying to come up with a post for the holiday season.  I was too late for a tutorial on homemade gifts, and I didn’t want to contribute one more cookie recipe to the endless ones you’ve probably seen over the past month.  I don’t know about you, but every time I see another delicious dessert recipe, I tend to think the season won’t be complete without it.  This year, I’ve tried to keep it simple.  One batch of gingerbread men (my husband’s favorite), some chocolate snowflake candy, and a batch of mayan chocolate truffles.  They’re all delicious.  But I don’t need any more projects, no more long days baking and packaging up treats.  I intend to spend the next few days with my family, enjoying the season, the early evenings and clear dark skies.  I watched the sun rising this morning, the palm trees silhouetted against a rainbow that progressed from earthy red to amber to a deep blue sky.  It was beautiful.  And that’s when I realized what my holiday needs: stillness.  A time to be thankful for the gifts I already have, for the time with those I love most, and the knowledge that I don’t need anything more for this moment to be complete.

Don’t worry, I’ve got a long list of posts to get you going in the new year.  We’ll be talking about nutrition, exercise, beauty products and homemade cleaners to get you started on the right track.  After all, it’s the time of New Year’s Resolutions, when we concentrate our efforts on becoming even better than we were before.  But for this next week, try and focus on the here and now.  Christmas comes but once a year, and its gone in the blink of an eye.  Enjoy the season, enjoy being with the ones you love most, and be content with what you have, here and now.  It’s just as important to wellness as anything else.

Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

