Carrot Cake Oatmeal for One

I love breakfast.  I love sitting down to read and plan my day with something nourishing and delicious to get me going.  Over the summer I would chop up whatever vegetables I had on hand and throw them all together into an omelet.  It was like an exercise in color, with beautiful green kale, purple cabbage, yellow squash and red peppers.  Delicious!  But lately I’ve been in a rut.  A vegetable omelet just doesn’t seem right in the middle of December.  So today, I finally had a breakthrough.  I knew I’d seen a recipe for carrot cake oatmeal that I’d been wanting to try.  After a few adaptations to make it dairy free and fit with what I had on hand, carrot cake oatmeal for one was born.  The original recipe can be found at the Crunchy Betty Website: Carrot Cake Oatmeal.  (If you haven’t checked out the Crunchy Betty site, you must.  Loads of wonderful recipes and tips for homemade beauty products that you’ll love.)

Yummy carrot cake oatmeal in progress. And no, madhava has no idea I exist, its just what I had on hand!

Carrot Cake Oatmeal for One

1-1 1/2 cups coconut milk

1 egg

1/2 cup gluten free oats

1/3 cup grated carrots

1 1/2 T coconut sugar or maple syrup (add more to your own desired level of sweetness)

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp ginger

Shred the carrots.  Pour 1 c milk and 1 egg into a small pot and whisk together.  Add oatmeal and stir well.  Then add in carrots, sugar and spices.  Mix well together.  Turn heat on to medium low and cook for 15-20 minutes, depending on how thick you like your oatmeal.  Stir occasionally

I started with about a cup of coconut milk and added some more towards the end to thin it out a little bit.  I like my oatmeal a little on the soupy side.

I was quite happy with how this turned out and will definitely be making it again.  I love anytime I can incorporate vegetables into breakfast foods!

Be sure to check back later today for the first post in my nutrition series.  We’ll be kicking off the new year with tips on how to develop your own nutritional plan.

This post was written while participating in Kelly the Kitchen Kop’s Real Food Wednesdays.

3 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Oatmeal for One

Leave a Reply

