Quinoa Veggie Breakfast Casserole

As I mentioned in my last post, I have trouble with some grains.  Mostly just quinoa, unfortunately, because I love it!  I tried soaking it overnight in apple cider vinegar to make it more digestible, but I’d still end up so bloated I looked about 5 months pregnant!  No matter whether it was quinoa, or quinoa flakes for making cookies, I couldn’t seem to handle either.  So I laid off for a while.  But, I still had it in my pantry, taunting me (I absolutely hate throwing away food).  It’s such a healthy grain, packed with protein, the food of the Mayan gods, as they say.  So, I figured I’d give it another shot.  Only this time I went a step further and actually sprouted it.  Then I sauteed some random veggies sitting in my fridge, added the quinoa and water, and cooked it up for lunch.  It was delicious!  I was a bit skeptical, waiting for the bloating that inevitably happens within an hour or two of eating quinoa.  And….nothing!  Not even a hint of bloating or intestinal discomfort.  YAY!  The next day I mixed it together with some eggs, baked it in the toaster oven, and quinoa veggie breakfast casserole was born!  The great thing about it is you can use whatever veggies you have on hand, and customize it to your own tastes.

Quinoa Veggie Breakfast Casserole

3/4 cup soaked and sprouted quinoa

1 1/2 cups veggies, chopped

2-3T ghee or coconut oil

1 1/3 cup boiling water

herbamare and salt and pepper to taste

3-4 eggs

Prepare the quinoa veggie salad by heating ghee in a saucepan over med high heat.  Meanwhile, boil water.  Add veggies and saute until soft.  Add boiling water and quinoa, cover and simmer over med low to low heat for approximately 20 minutes.  Add herbamare and salt and pepper to taste  (Depending on the moisture already in the sprouted quinoa, you may need to uncover and let some of the water boil off at the end if it looks too wet.  I did, and it turned out fine.)  Eat some of this for lunch, its delicious!

When you’re ready to make breakfast casserole, spray a small baking dish with spray coconut oil (and immediately feel like you’re at the beach, I swear it smells just like banana boat!) or grease with your oil of choice.  Beat the eggs (3-4 depending on how much of the salad you already ate), then combine with the quinoa.  Pour into the prepared dish and bake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  Eat and enjoy!

This post is part of Sunday School at Butter Believer.

Leave a Reply

