Homemade Cleaners

I started making my own cleaners out of paranoia.  When I was in nursing school, I took care of a woman who had accidentally used ammonia and bleach together while cleaning her bathroom.  The chlorine gas that formed irritated her airways so severely that she was rushed to the hospital, where doctors barely managed to get an airway in before her trachea swelled completely shut around the tube.  For three weeks, she laid intubated and sedated in the ICU while we waited for the swelling to go down.  Finally, the swelling subsided and we were able to take the tube out, but not before seriously considering a tracheostomy for this poor patient.  I was a bit scarred by the event, and have always been a bit scared about cleaning the bathroom with commercial cleaners.  The solution: homemade cleaners!

I make most of my own cleaning products and a lot of my own hygiene products these days.  I like avoiding all the toxins present in commercial products that can really do a number on your metabolism, as well as your airway!  Now I’m no longer scared to clean my bathroom, and I’ve learned how cost effective making cleaners really is.  For me, frugality is a huge part of wellness.  When I’m spending less money on products I can easily make myself, I have more money to spend on quality foods like grassfed beef and pastured chicken.  Plus, I’m not as stressed about the budget, and reducing stress is always a positive thing for your health!

So without further ado, here are the recipes for two of my favorite cleaners.  I found them online somewhere, and have long forgotten where they came from.

Granite Cleaner

1 part rubbing alcohol

20 parts water

1-2 drops liquid dish detergent

10-15 drops tea tree oil, or other antibacterial essential oil

Mix all together and store in a spray bottle or reused glass jar.  The pH of this mixture is near 7, which is apparently ideal for granite.  The alcohol and tea tree oil add some disinfectant power to the mix without using hormone disrupting chemicals like triclosan.

I have to admit, I don’t always measure out the ratio of alcohol to water, I usually just eyeball it in the jar.  But, to be extra safe and protect your granite, you may want to actually measure it until you get an idea of what it looks like.

Disinfectant Spray

1 cup water

1 cup white vinegar

8 drops tea tree oil

Lemon or other essential oil for scent, as desired

Mix together in a spray bottle or reused glass jar.  Perfect for disinfecting doorknobs and surfaces in your home after an outbreak of the common cold.

Once you realize how cheap it is to make your own cleaners, and how quickly you can throw them together, you may find that you don’t miss the commercial cleaners at all!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cleaners

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

