Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Milkshake

I LOVE milkshakes.  Kindof hard for a girl that doesn’t drink dairy anymore.  When my husband and I were dating, one of our favorite things to do would be to go get milkshakes from the drive through and sit in his miata at a tiny little beach that no one ever visited and talk the night away.  It’s actually what we did the night he proposed.  But, since starting on my journey to wellness about a year and a half ago, milkshakes have been few and far between.

Thankfully, there are alternatives, and I have come to love coconut milk.  It’s thick and creamy and the perfect texture for milkshakes.  You’ll notice in the picture above the big bottle of AH!laska chocolate syrup.  Yes, it’s a processed food, I’ll admit.  But its pretty benign as far as processed foods go.  The ingredients include organic evaporated cane syrup, water, organic cocoa, xanthan gum, citric acid, and organic vanilla.  It’s not something I’d recommend consuming daily of course, because it does contain a lot of sugar.  But if you’re a mother of a kid who needs to be dairy free, or you just want to give yourself a decent alternative to the drive through milkshakes, this is a pretty good substitute.  The amounts for the ingredients below are approximate, I just scooped them in until it looked right.  Feel free to play around with it.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Milkshake

1/4 cup peanut butter

1-1 1/2 cup coconut milk, full fat

One banana, frozen and cut into chunks

AH!laska chocolate syrup to taste

Combine all ingredients together in a blender, adding water to thin out the shake if its too thick for your liking.  Pour in a glass and enjoy, preferably at the beach or somewhere else you love to be.

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Milkshake

  1. This is one of my favorites! I use raw milk instead of coconut, and sometimes add in ice to thicken it a little more. I also use AH!laska chocolate syrup and I think the name alone ads to the delicious milkshake experience!

  2. Hi Leah! This shake sounds sooo good–but I have a concern about the full fat coconut milk–doesn’t that add a lot of calories? Especially for us older adults? :0)
    Thanks! I am enjoying your blogs!

    • Jeanne-

      Yes, full fat coconut milk does have a lot of calories, but the good news is that they’re healthy calories. It’s much better to fill up on healthy fats than overdo it with carbohydrates. Your body will sense the incoming fat and get full a lot sooner than you would with carbohydrates. I certainly wouldn’t recommend it for a daily treat, but the occasional indulgence is fine. I’ll be writing a post on all the benefits of coconut products sometime soon, so keep reading!

Leave a Reply

