Avoiding the Trap of Perfectionism

So much good has come out of the wellness movement.  People are looking more closely than ever at their diets, their lifestyles, their stress levels, etc.  Prevention is becoming more mainstream, and a lot of people have become a lot healthier because of it.  But there’s an underlying current of perfectionism in the wellness movement that, if left unchecked, could hinder your efforts to finding your best life.

I’m a huge perfectionist, and I have been all my life.  Honestly, it probably hasn’t been until the last couple of years that I’ve really started letting go of the expectation that I need to be perfect.  Sure, I’d admit that I wasn’t perfect and never could be, but deep down I’d still have the expectation, beating myself up over mistakes in any area of my life.  I wanted to be the perfect wife, the perfect nurse, the perfect housekeeper, everything had to be perfect, or I just wasn’t trying hard enough.

Over the last year and a half as I’ve explored my own health and wellness with more focus than ever before, this tendency has sometimes gotten out of hand.  I’d stress if my meal wasn’t as nutrient dense as it could be, or if I stayed up too late one night, or forgot to take one of my supplements.  What’s really hit home for me lately is the simple truth that there is no perfect.  Not this side of life anyway.  I’ll never have the perfect day, the perfect diet, the perfect routine or perfect health.  Life just doesn’t work that way.  I have a full time job (and then some), a family to care for, a home to keep up with, relationships to nurture, and somewhere in there I also like to have some fun.

With the internet and all the bloggers out there writing about what they do to save money, eat better, etc, its easy to start comparing yourself to others.  If they can do it, why can’t I?  Maybe that’s the final step I need to take to get into perfect health.  Well, I’m here to tell you, nobody is perfect, least of all me.  Sometimes I still eat potato chips, pick up food on the way home rather than cook for myself, stay up too late and go to work still tired, and skip chores around the house if I just don’t feel like doing them.  You know what?  I’m ok with that.  The stress of trying to be perfect will cause more damage to your body than simply allowing yourself to be human and less than perfect.  Don’t beat yourself up over it, and don’t think that the person on the other side of the computer somehow has the handle on perfection that you don’t.  They mess up just as much as you do, they just may not share it with you.

So as you read my blog I hope you find the information in it helpful on your journey to finding wellness.  But don’t take it as a list of do’s and dont’s that have to be followed to the letter.  Find a way to incorporate it in your life that really works for you, do the best you can, and at the end of the day, don’t stress if it isn’t perfect.  It never will be, and that’s ok.

One thought on “Avoiding the Trap of Perfectionism

Leave a Reply

