Soak up the Sun

This week I took a couple days off work to relax, recharge my batteries, and catch up on some things I’d like to do.  I’ve been so busy this year with school, blogging, and now my externship, that I haven’t taken a whole lot of time for myself.  As I was planning what I wanted to do with my time, I tried to remember the last time I actually got outside and enjoyed the sun and the outdoors.  And you know what?  I couldn’t remember.

For a Florida girl, that’s just a cryin’ shame!  It’s mid July, and I haven’t spent much time outside at all.  So today, I plan on remedying that.  No, I won’t be going to the beach, as much as I enjoy that.  Today I’m going to relax around my own house and enjoy the sun in other ways.

Like, taking some time to play outside with Onyx.  I’m convinced this dog is in my life to bring me joy and help me slow down.  To him, there’s nothing better than a good belly rub or chasing a ball.  So today, we’ll be spending some time outdoors to enjoy the simple pleasures. After all, how could you say no to a face like his?

Another thing I’ve been neglecting for a while is yoga.  I used to take classes at the local studio, but when my favorite instructor left and they changed the class times, I couldn’t fit it into my schedule anymore.  But, I do enjoy garden yoga!  I take my mat outside and get some vitamin D, breathe in the clean air, and try to work out some of the tension that’s built up in my body over the week.  It’s been far too long since I’ve done this, and with the Florida heat, it’s almost as good as a bikram yoga class! (Almost).

Like any southern girl, I can’t say no to a big tall glass of iced tea.  Today I’m trying sun tea for the first time.  Rumor has it that sun tea tastes even better than iced tea you make on the stovetop.  Today I’ll be testing this theory, with the added benefit of not having to stand over a hot stove in this July heat!  I poured about 8 cups of water in a big glass jar, added 7 herbal tea bags, and a couple sprigs of mint from my garden.  I’ll let it steep for 6-8 hours (or until the afternoon thunderstorms roll in), then, I’ll see if the rumors are true.  Here’s hoping!

Lastly, I plan on making this strawberry and cherry pie from The Gluten Free Girl.  I’ll be taking it to my mom’s for a fun girls weekend I’ve got planned with my mom and my sister.  It’s been far too long since I’ve baked a pie, and while it isn’t exactly what you might think of on a day built around soaking up the sun, I plan on taking in all the nutrients and delicious flavor of these berries grown by the heat of the sun.  Too bad I can’t bake it by the heat of the sun!  Oh well.  I plan on using my toaster oven so I don’t heat the whole kitchen with my big oven.  And in case you’re skeptical about baking a pie in a toaster oven, last Thanksgiving my mom made beef tenderloin in my toaster oven, and it was one of the best beef tenderloins I’d ever had!  Down here, sometimes we have to plan our meals around what won’t heat up the whole kitchen!

What do you do to relax and unwind?  Have you made time for yourself lately?  If you’ve got any thoughts on how you enjoy summer, I’d love to hear them.

This post is part of Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways at Frugally Sustainable.

3 thoughts on “Soak up the Sun

Leave a Reply

