My blogging hiatus

Nothing relaxes me quite like the beauty of the great outdoors.

As some of you may have noticed, I took a hiatus from blogging last week.  It wasn’t really planned, it just kindof happened.  My nephews were in town for the week, life had been very busy for a while, and I was feeling overwhelmed with everything on my plate.  Blogging just didn’t make the cut for the week, but now I’m feeling more rejuvenated and ready to give you an update on what I’ve been up to.

I did a bit of work on the website so that now its more than just a blog.  I added a home page that introduces what Owning Wellness is and what I’m about.  I also added a page for health coaching consultations.  Right now I’m still working with my externship clients and going to start my paper soon, but I plan to start taking on a limited number of clients when I’m finished in October.

My freezer is now full of local free range chicken and local grass fed beef.

I picked up my portion of a grass fed cow!  Along with a friend and my aunt, I was able to purchase half a grass fed cow that we split between the three of us from my local rancher over at Lake Oriole Ranch.  I haven’t actually cooked any of it yet because I’ve been on the go visiting my nephews and celebrating family birthdays, but I will be sure to give you an update when I do.  And now my freezer is full of about 60 pounds of organic, hormone and pesticide free, grass fed beef.  I’m very excited for some great steaks, shepherd’s pie, and homemade meatballs.

A kids dream play house.

I got to enjoy being a kid again with my nephews.  My father-in law built them a tunnel made of all the boxes from their recent move, and they loved it!

My dog will go anywhere to get his favorite toy.

The dogs even got in on the fun, and the adult kiddos may or may not have given it a run through themselves!  It was great to be with our family and de-stress, to have some fun and forget about everything but being together.

I met with my externship clients and got to hear about the changes they’re making in their lives and the affects its having on themselves and their families.  I also got some great feedback from a reader about how dietary changes are already drastically affecting the way she feels and her overall health.  I believe in everything I write on this site, and its encouraging to hear from others who have tried it and seen positive results.

I finally made the Chocolate Sunnut Butter Ice Cream that I’ve been wanting to make since May of this year.  It was delicious!  I definitely need to pull out the ice cream maker more often, as its so easy and a great homemade treat.

As I transition into my health coaching role, things around here will be a bit different.  I won’t have quite as much time for blogging as I did before.  I will continue to write, probably a couple times a week.  I’m also going to work on organizing the posts in a more user-friendly way so that you can use this site as a resource.  But I also want to have time to actually LIVE the things I write about.  I want the time to make healthy meals from scratch, and not just the simple ones that can be whipped up in ten minutes.  I want to make more time in my schedule for an exercise regimen, relax and laugh with my husband, and maybe even try my hand at a fall vegetable garden.  I want to actually FINISH a book, and not just one on health.  In short, I don’t want to preach what I don’t have time to practice for myself, because that just feels false, and I’ve never been able to be anything but honest.  (I have no poker face whatsoever!)  For those of you who have been with me from the beginning, thanks so much for your faithful readership.  If you have something you’ve been hoping to see here on the blog, send me a message and let me know.  I want to write about the things that matter to you.  If you’re looking for some health coaching, send me an email to get on the waiting list for October.  And above all, remember that its often the small changes that start you on the path to a better life, full of wellness and contentment.  Own your life, make it yours, and enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

