An Update, Health Coaching, and Lots of Ireland Pictures

Cashel, Ireland

So, it’s been a long time since my last post.  A LONG time.  Since blogging isn’t my full time job, (or even a job at all, actually), sometimes it falls by the wayside.  Here’s an update of what I’ve been up to the last couple months, with lots of pictures of my recent trip thrown in for good measure.  (And because I’m missing it like crazy and like to pretend I’m still there.)

First of all, I finished all the requirements for my certification.  YAY!  I’m still waiting on everything to be graded, but I am DONE.  For so long I’ve been focused on getting everything done, and now that it’s finally completed, I realized how much work it really was.  I spent at least 8-10 hours a week on it for the better part of a year, and at the end, it was more like 20 hours a week.  That’s another part time job!  It was worth it and I’m so glad I did it, but I am also incredibly thankful to have that time back to do other things.  I’ve been cooking more, getting outside, and even taking my afternoon power naps again.  My body is very appreciative!

Galway, Ireland

My husband and I took a trip to Ireland!  It was a celebration of our five year wedding anniversary, something we’d talked about doing for years.  It was absolutely breathtaking!  Everywhere you looked it was luscious and green, even in the end of September.  Thankfully we had good weather for the majority of our trip, so we were able to get outside and enjoy the beautiful scenery.  We flew into Dublin, then rented a car and drove around the southern half of Ireland, stopping at random castles and hiking through Killarney National Park.  It was such a relaxing time, and the people were all incredibly friendly.  I’ve never gone on a trip and then  missed the country as much as I have with Ireland.  We’ll be going back one day!

Trim, Ireland

Taking some time from all the tasks on my to-do list and simply enjoying life one day at a time was incredibly freeing.  It helped me realize the things I want to prioritize in my own life, as well as the things I’ve been too focused on.  I really enjoyed my health coaching practicuum and connecting with my clients.  It was wonderful getting to know some amazing people and to watch them make changes to their lives and claim the ability to influence their health and their future.  It combines the two things I love most about nursing: human connection and understanding the inner workings of our amazing bodies.

Cliffs of Moher

Some of the things I’ve been focusing on too much involve taking on too many tasks at once.  I’ve always got a project going, and it was getting to the point where I felt like I was wasting time if I wasn’t being productive.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about keeping busy, but it got to the point where even reading a book for pleasure seemed like a poor choice.  I think it stemmed from trying to get everything done for school, but it definitely got out of hand.  Now I’m giving myself permission to sit down, read a book, play with the dog, or even, ::gasp!::  watch a little TV.  And I’m better for it.

Rock of Cashel, Ireland

 

Finally, I’ve set up my health coaching page.  I’ll be taking on a limited number of clients at a time in order to keep my schedule from getting too crazy.  If you aren’t familiar with the concept of health coaching, it’s all about identifying the positive and negative influences in your life, and helping you to increase the positive influences and decrease the negative ones.  It’s a holistic approach that considers the emotional, environmental, nutritional, physical, and spiritual aspects of your life.  I can help you with all kinds of issues, from incorporating an exercise routine into your schedule to changing your diet or even helping you navigate through your treatment options for various conditions.  My specialty is helping people transition to a nutrient dense, whole foods based diet that will fit practically into your life.   If you’re a mom who needs to put your child or family on a special diet, a single guy who wants to eat healthy but doesn’t know how to cook, a diabetic trying to control your disease with diet, or simply someone trying to learn about how the food you eat impacts your health, I’ll be here to help you through that process.  If you aren’t sure if health coaching is for you, shoot me an email and we can set up an informational session to help you decide.

County Meath, Ireland

As we enter into another holiday season, I encourage you to take some time every day and do something for yourself.  Whether its five minutes of peace and quiet, getting outside and reconnecting with nature, or simply taking the time to prepare yourself a nutritious meal, its important to invest in the health of your mind, body, and soul.  Here’s to your wellness!

One thought on “An Update, Health Coaching, and Lots of Ireland Pictures

Leave a Reply

